The Breakdown of a Breakup

The trail ran cold in the middle of winter
All of my senses left me
It was the worse isolation I can remember
I had felt benevolent placing a kiss on your forehead
But now I suddenly remember your smile through your teeth

I’m inhaling cold air to breathe
But the cold air in my lungs makes my chest hurt
I am treading my feet inertly on the ground
Having no particular place to be
No reason to hold my head up
So I look down because I feel down
And if my emotions sink any deeper I’ll drown

I don’t think it’s hard to miss in this eerie silence
The shattering of glass
My heart breaking
My soul screaming
My teeth chattering
My whole being shaking

Everything seems collapsible
Dispensable
Forgettable
And I thought I was unstoppable
But I was silly
Typical
Contemptible
It’s unmentionable

Leave a Reply

