Tears

There were dresses, the flowing ones

Pearls dangling like teardrops

Diamonds sparkling like the corners of my eyes

I held back the sobs

I leaned against the large window casting a shadow

I wouldn’t cry

Cold glass cooled my hot face

Someone told me I was beautiful

I smiled sadly

Someone grabbed my hands

We started dancing

We were twirling

I forgot for a minute

The handsome face of a foolish lover forfeited

I almost forgot that weight that pins me in place

The corners of my mouth turned up

One man saw a sneer

Another saw lust

What came out was a laugh

How could they know it was so I wouldn’t cry?

I couldn’t cry tears so I wore them

They shook as I threw my head back laughing

They dangled and were in no danger of falling

Leave a Reply

